Skip to content

Stylishly Late

Fashion fades, only style remains the same

Two months ago or so I went to Finland to visit some friends. Before living in Europe I had a weird fascination with Nordic countries. Coming from Latin America, these countries seem super exotic for me, yada yada yada. Having now been to two of them already, and been a travel-freak, I have to move forward to new obsessions. I still find them interesting, but they are not my N°1 obsession anymore.

Why am I talking about Nordic countries? They do are different, but that’s not the whole point of this post, is it. Neither my obsession with traveling. I mean, these scans are of Russian Vogue, so why am I telling all this useless information?

Well, because when I was at school I was told that when I wrote something I had to do an introduction and it couldn’t be “In the following text X subject will be discussed”, because that wasn’t interesting. They also told me to always write in 3rd person, but I already do that at work.

So, moving to the “body” of the text. When I was going to take my plane to come back home (from that trip to Finland), while I was wondering around like a zombie at the airport I saw it: Russian Vogue. Since I was a kid (thanks to that Anastasia movie and to Mecano’s song Laika) I’ve had another country-crush, one that so far I’ve not been able to pursue: Russia. But now, with Russian Vogue I could!

I mean, really, even their alphabet is cool:

I don’t care that I don’t know how to read Russian, visually it’s incredible. The fashion editorials have a different aesthetics and let’s be honest…a foreign language is always cool, so a foreign alphabet is even cooler. I guess we as humans find magic/interesting what we can’t understand.

These images here are of a small pamphlet that came with the Vogue, I uploaded the whole thing as I just found it all to be inspiring. I was planning to upload some scans from the actual magazine too, but it got lost in my house this week, and honestly, this post is already long enough, so I guess some more Russian aesthetics will be coming back some other time and I’ll probably be coming back to use some of these pages in a more detailed fashion.

наслаждайтесь!

Messer fur Frau Muller

P.S.: The videos and the Russian greeting are the “conclusion”, if you felt like asking.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

